Go directly to contents.

Identification tokens of other countries

Common European means of identification (elDAS) allows the safe use of e-services provided by public administration in Europe across national borders. 

Identification tokens from other countries can be used for identification in Finnish e-services once they have first been approved by the European Union for use in cross-border identification. 

When you identify yourself, the identification tokens from different countries may be available for you to select. However, it is possible to use the e-services only if foreigners are permitted to use in the e-service in question. Check in the instructions of the service you need whether you can use a foreign identification token.

At the moment, e-identification is possible with tokens from the following countries: 

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

For more information on eIDAS identification, visit the Identification page on the Digital and Population Data Services Agency websiteOpens in a new window..

Updated: 29/11/2023