Go directly to contents.
Responsible for the service The Municipality of Sipoo

Public transport

  • Service
  • 9 municipalities
  • Public service

Public transport in Sipoo is planned and organized by the Helsinki Regional Transport Authority, or HSL. In addition to Sipoo, it consists of the following member municipalities: Helsinki, Vantaa, Espoo, Kauniainen, Kerava, Kirkkonummi, Tuusula and Siuntio. In cooperation with the Uusimaa Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment, HSL also coordinates several bus lines running ...

Do the following

HSL area

HSL tickets are valid in public transport in the following municipalities: Helsinki, Espoo, Kauniainen, Vantaa, Kerava, Sipoo, Tuusula, Kirkkonummi and Siuntio. The tickets can be used for traveling with bus, commuter trains, trams, underground/subway and on the Suomenlinna ferry. All tickets allow you to transfer between modes of transport within their validity. The HSL area is divided into four zones, identified by letters A, B, C and D, spreading out from the center of Helsinki. Before buying a ticket, check the zones you travel through and buy a ticket accordingly. Season tickets are a perfect solution for people who use public transport on a regular basis.

If you travel more occasionally, buy a value ticket. You can use value on your HSL card (the card must be topped up in advance), or purchase a single ticket separately. Single tickets can be purchased by using the HSL app on your mobile phone. Alternatively, you can buy a paper single ticket at any of the ticket machines at HSL stops or platforms, as well as in many kiosks and supermarkets. For now, bus drivers do not sell tickets because of the Covid-19 situation. HSL single tickets are not usually sold in buses/coaches marked with the letter U, as these are operated by private carriers. If you purchase a ticket in an U-bus, you will not be able to use it to transfer between HSL modes of traffic. Nevertheless, if you already have a HSL ticket, you may use it to continue your journey with an U-bus.

Seasonal and serial ticket for Uusimaa and Häme region

With the seasonal and regional tickets for Uusimaa and Häme regions, you can travel in the Central and Eastern Uusimaa region and in the Kanta-Häme region in the following municipalities: Askola, Hausjärvi, Hyvinkää, Janakkala, Järvenpää, Lapinjärvi, Loppi, Loviisa, Mäntsälä, Myrskylä, Nurmijärvi, Pornainen, Porvoo, Pukkila , Riihimäki, Sipoo and Tuusula. The ticket product is loaded onto Matkahuolto's travel card, which can be obtained from Matkahuolto.

Single tickets are suitable for non-recurring trips and occasional traveling on Matkahuolto routes. Single tickets can be purchased from the Matkahuolto online shop, via the mobile app and at Matkahuolto service outlets.

The service is provided by

ELY Centre for Uusimaa

Responsible for the service

The Municipality of Sipoo
Text edited by: The Municipality of Sipoo
Updated: 9/2/2024