Go directly to contents.
Responsible for the service ELY Centre

Restrictions of common fishing rights

  • Permit or other obligation
  • Nationwide except the Åland Islands
  • Public service

The Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment (ELY Centre) may, in a specific water area, restrict angling, ice fishing and lure fishing or prohibit them if necessary in order to:

  • Secure the objectives of the fisheries region’s management plan or more efficient management of the fish stock;
  • Perform fishery research;
  • Secure the fish stock;
  • Secure the commercial util ...

Do the following

Complete the printable form (Application for the prohibition of common fishing rights) and send it as an attachment to the general online form to the registry of the ELY Centre. You can also send the form by post. The return addresses are provided in the application form.

To whom and on what terms

The ELY Centre may impose a restriction or prohibition either on its own initiative or on the initiative of the fishing right holder, commercial fisherman, fisheries region or a party in whose interest the matter lies.

The restriction or prohibition must be applied for in writing, and the application must include an account of the grounds of the application and the proposed restricted or prohibited area with attached maps. The total restricted or prohibited area may be no more than 25% of the surface area of the waters of the fisheries region.

The restrictions and prohibitions may not weaken the possibility to utilise common fishing rights more than what is necessary to achieve the objective of the restriction or prohibition.


The permit should be applied for in sufficient time before it is needed.

Processing time

The processing time of the application is 6 to 8 weeks. A decision usually involve a request for a statement or a public notice, which takes time.

Period of validity

Up to 10 years.

The service is provided by

ELY Centre for Lapland, ELY Centre for Varsinais-Suomi, ELY Centre for North Savo

Other responsible organisations

ELY Centre for Pirkanmaa, ELY Centre for Ostrobothnia, ELY Centre for Southeast Finland, ELY Centre for South Ostrobothnia, ELY Centre for Uusimaa, ELY Centre for Satakunta, ELY Centre for North Karelia, ELY Centre for South Savo, ELY Centre for Central Finland, ELY Centre for North Savo, ELY Centre for Varsinais-Suomi, ELY Centre for North Ostrobothnia, ELY Centre for Lapland, ELY Centre for Häme, ELY Centre for Kainuu

Responsible for the service

Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment
Text edited by: ELY Centre
Updated: 10/3/2021