Go directly to contents.
Responsible for the service TE Office

Initial assessment for immigrants

  • Service
  • Nationwide except the Åland Islands
  • Public service

An initial assessment is an interview to find out about your study and work experience and other circumstances affecting your integration and employment. In addition to the interview, it also tests your language, reading and writing skills. The initial assessment also assesses the need to prepare an integration plan.

Your initial assessment will be conducted within two months after you have been ...

Do the following

  • Register as a job seeker in TE Services.
  • Once you have registered as a job seeker, an expert at the TE Office or local government pilot will call or send you a text message, email or letter.
  • Please note that if you do not participate in the agreed initial assessment, it may affect your unemployment security.

To whom and on what terms

The TE Office or local government pilot will assess whether an initial assessment should be prepared for you.

In order for the initial assessment to be carried out, you must have a valid residence permit in Finland, your right of residence must be registered or you must have a residence card.

If you have lived in Finland for over three years, you can ask the TE Office or local government pilot to determine whether they can draw up an initial assessment for you.

The service is provided by

TE Office

Other responsible organisations

Pohjois-Savo TE Office, Häme TE Office, Varsinais-Suomi TE Office, Pohjanmaa TE Office, Keski-Suomi TE Office, Kaakkois-Suomi TE Office, Uusimaa TE Office, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa TE Office, Etelä-Pohjanmaa TE Office, Lapland TE Office, Pohjois-Karjala TE Office, Etelä-Savo TE Office, Pirkanmaa TE Office, Kainuu TE Office, Satakunta TE Office

Responsible for the service

TE Office
Text edited by: TE Office
Updated: 9/8/2023