suomi.fi
Go directly to contents.

Deleting a deceased person's social media accounts

Social media services do not automatically get notified after a death of a user. User accounts stay active in the services unless a family member deletes them. Facebook may suggest a deceased person as a friend to friends or remind them of their birthday.

The next of kin usually has the right to delete a deceased person's user account. Social media services require proof of the family relationship and that the owner of the account is dead. Different services handle deleting accounts in different ways.

Some services have a time limit that disables accounts that have not been logged in within a certain period of time. The time limit may vary between different services.


Text edited by: Suomi.fi editorial team
Updated: 7/27/2021