First page / Services by topic / Law and legal protection / Voting and civic activity / Parliamentary elections

Parliamentary elections

Members of Parliament are elected every four years. Election day is the third Sunday of April. Every Finnish citizen who has reached the age of 18 not later than on the day of the election is entitled to vote in parliamentary elections. The Finnish Parliament comprises 200 representatives.

In parliamentary elections, the country is divided into electoral districts. A proportional number of MPs is elected from each electoral district. However, one MP is always elected from the Province of Åland.

Parliamentary elections are direct and proportional: the number of MPs from each group that nominated candidates corresponds to the number of votes received by that group in each electoral district.

Show content: Most viewed first In alphabetical order

Send link

The “Send link” functionality lets you add pages to your bookmarks and send pages by e-mail to the recipients of your choice. You can also share content with your network in social networking services. Using these services is usually free of charge, but they require user registration.

XML Page updated on 28.02.2014
Go to the Public Service Info website.
Go to the's Workspace - information and services for authorities.
Go to the Enterprise Finland website. editorial team | State Treasury